• Venues
  • Dining & Bars
  • What's On
  • Promotions
  • Host Your Event
  • Stays
  • Health & Fitness
  • Membership
  • 03 March

CANCELLED: Triple Header

9405 Wests Cardiff New Wests Site 814X543 Status Quo Tmg And Taste


Wests Cardiff




Sunday 3rd March 2019


8:30 PM


8:00 PM


$65 + BF 18 + event

Dear members and guests, due to circumstances beyond our control, this show has been cancelled. John Coghlan’s Quo along with the Ted Mulry Gang and Taste apologise to those fans who, like us, have been inconvenienced by this action. For further information please call 4979 1900.

John Coghlan’s Quo

John Coghlan joined Francis Rossi and Alan Lancaster in their newly-formed band ‘The Spectres’ in 1962. The group went through a series of name changes before becoming Status Quo in the late 60s when Rick Parfitt also joined the line-up. In the years that followed, a string of chart-topping albums and an almost endless stream of hits included “Pictures of Matchstick Men”, “In My Chair”, “Paper Plane”, “Caroline”, “Down Down”, “Rain”, “Wild Side Of Life”, “Rockin' All over the World”, and many more. For Quo fans and critics alike, this time is often regarded as Quo’s “Classic” period.

In 2013 and 2014, John re-joined Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt and Alan Lancaster for two sell-out Status Quo ‘Frantic Four’ Reunion Tours all over the UK and Europe that recaptured the excitement of the ‘Classic’ Quo. John Coghlan’s Quo can be seen by audiences all over Australia recreating an authentic “70’s Quo Sound” all in keeping with John’s time with Status Quo. The band consists of John Coghlan (the Heartbeat of Quo) on Drums with long term member Mick Hughes on guitar and vocals, Rick Chase on bass and vocals, and Rick Abbs on guitar and vocals completing the line-up. 'John Coghlan's Quo will take you on a joyous journey of his golden past in one of the most celebrated and much loved rock bands the UK has ever produced. A night of beer-raising, feelgood factor Status Quo classics'

Ted Mulry Gang (TMG)

Began in September 1972 when Ted Mulry, who had many hits as a solo artist in the earlier years, joined with guitarist Les Hall and drummer Herman Kovac and the later addition, in 1974’ of Gary Dixon on rhythm guitar .
Their first major hit, and the biggest of their career, was the 1975 single “Jump in My Car” which spent 11 weeks at number one on the Australian singles charts in 1976 and was the first Australian act to knock Abba off the number one spot. It was the second single released from the Here We Are album produced by Ted Albert at Alberts Studios. Over the next few years, they achieved a string of hit singles including a rocked up version of the old jazz song, “Darktown Strutters’ Ball”, “Crazy”, “Jamaica Rum”, “My Little Girl”, “Naturally” and “Heart Of Stone”. By late 1980 their chart success had ended but they remained popular performers on the Australian pub circuit. In 1989, after some time apart, the Ted Mulry gang reformed working consistently throughout the 1990s up until Ted was diagnosed with cancer and passed away the day before his birthday on September 1st, 2001.
The current line-up consists of Les Hall (guitar), Gary Dixon (guitar) and Herm Kovac (drums) who played on all the records and performed in all clips and TV shows. The boys dipped into the gene pool and extracted Ted's younger brother Steve Mulry as close a voice to Ted's you are going to get. The guys have reached out to an old mate to play bass, original Sherbet bass player Tony Mitchell.


The story of TASTE is a legend from the lost back pages of Australian rock’n’roll: the meteoric rise and fall of a mid ’70s glam-rock quartet with a fiery reputation among such lofty peers as AC/DC, Queen, Suzi Quatro and the Sweet. Ken, Joey, Michael and drummer Virgil Donati were teenaged rock idols back in the Countdown dreamtime of the mid 1970s. Tickle Your Fancy and Knights of Love were two classic albums that spawned a run of hits including Tickle Your Fancy, A Little Romance and their signature tune, Boys Will Be Boys. The latter was famously adopted by Queen as the pre-gig fanfare on their A Night At the Opera tour of 1976. TASTE was preparing to tour America with Freddie Mercury and Co. on the back of an imminent deal with Sire Records in the USA when the wheels fell off in 1977. There is a lot of history in Taste. When Ken Murdoch, Joey Amenta, Michael Tortoni formed Taste with Virgil Donati in the 70s, Queen was new, Countdown was just starting and breaking internationally was near impossible for an Aussie band. In the 70s there were no radio networks, no Internet and no 24-hour music television. Bands made their name by where they toured and lifted their profile city by city as the songs made the radio. Taste released two albums back then ‘Tickle Your Fancy’ in 1976 and ‘Knights of Love’ in 1977 and then it was all over. Taste is Joey Armenta (guitar), Michael Tortoni (bass/vocals), Ken Murdoch (guitar/vocals) and new drummer Damian Corniola boasts a fortuitous connection with the roots of the band. He studied under original drummer Virgil Donati.